Small-Batch Fluffy Chocolate Frosting

It’s no secret that I love cake more than most people. I love all baked goods, really, and I might love cookies oh-so-slightly more.

But cake is a very, very, very close second.

We get a lot of free food sent to my office, and I can usually be fairly calm and restrained about it–unless someone sends cake or cupcakes. Then I leap up like someone put a tack on my chair and power walk to the office kitchen as dignified as I possibly can.

It’s hard, since we get free food at least every other week, and that’s not counting all the baked goods I buy myself. I really don’t know how I don’t weigh 200 pounds.

And yet despite all the free cupcakes and afternoon walks for cupcakes, I found myself with an urge to bake. Probably because of the very not-springy weather New York has been having. Thanks to one of my favorite food blogs, How Sweet Eats, I had a recipe to make just two cupcakes. Luckily, the post didn’t come with a frosting-for-two recipe, so I got to play around in my kitchen with my two good friends butter and sugar. Sometimes bad weather is a blessing in disguise.

This recipe makes enough to frost four cupcakes. You could try cutting this in half to just make enough for two, but I’m not sure how well everything would combine in such small quantities. Besides, do you really not have a use for an extra small bowl of frosting? Exactly.

Cupcakes for Two, recipe at How Sweet Blog. Jessica says to bake for 10-12 minutes, but I had to bake mine for more like 15. This is the crooked oven we’re talking about, so I’d start poking yours with a toothpick around 11 minutes. I also put some chocolate chips on top of my cupcakes (they won’t sink).

Small-Batch Fluffy Chocolate Frosting
2 tablespoons salted butter, softened
2 ounces cream cheese (1/4 a container)
1 generous teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 to 3/4 cup powdered sugar
splash of milk

Cream butter and cream cheese in mixer with wire whisk attachment. Add 1/2 cup sugar and beat until well incorporated. Add cocoa powder and beat until well incorporated. Stop the mixer at this point and taste it–I don’t like my frosting too sweet, but if you like yours sweeter, add more sugar. Beat until well mixed and fluffing up. Add splash of milk and beat until combined. Frost cupcakes generously, and get creative with the leftover frosting!

One thought on “Small-Batch Fluffy Chocolate Frosting

  1. Pingback: What’s the Funniest Search Term That’s Brought People to Your Blog? | Cake Is The Only Thing That Matters

Leave a Reply

