Broccoli Quiche

Quiche is the easiest thing to make ever. Seriously. It’s especially great for lazy people because it gives you instant lunch/side dishes for days. I cannot believe I hadn’t made one before now.

The truth is, I hadn’t made one before now because for something so incredibly easy, all the recipes I had come across were so incredibly complicated.

So when I found this recipe on Love & Olive Oil, I thought awesome, problem solved! A super easy recipe that I can make in a pie plate with a pre-made pie crust. The bad news: I didn’t own a pie plate. The good news: that gave me a great excuse to go to the baking supply store. The good/bad news: somehow a trip for a $8 pie plate and $5 fancy sprinkles cost me $50. Hello, fancy cooling rack!

Sadly, there was more bad news: this super easy recipe was wrong. I don’t know what crazy dish she used to make her quiche, but six eggs, 1 1/2 cups of liquid, and filling did not fit in my pie plate. Egg. Got. Everywhere. Maybe that’s why her recipe suggested putting your pie plate on a baking sheet, but that was not enough to prevent the spillage for me when I moved it, and I hadn’t even added the cheese yet. Egg all over the baking sheet. Egg on the top of the stove. Egg on the side of the stove. Egg on the floor. Egg on the counter. It was not good.
Lucky for me, my roommate was in her room the whole time and missed the whole debacle (Hi Leela!). Lucky for you, I’ve adjusted the recipe accordingly. I made a number of other adjustments based on what was in my kitchen, and have made those below too, as I’d recommend them. I didn’t have any half-and-half, but I did have heavy cream, so I mixed it with equal parts skim milk, which I also had. It’s basically lower-fat half-and-half, and unless you use half-and-half in your coffee I’d recommend doing it this way too. It cuts a bit of fat, and it’s a lot easier to find things to do with leftover milk and heavy cream than it is half-and-half (hello, berry season!). I could not for the life of me get my garlic to turn into a paste, so I left it minced and it was fine. The original recipe pre-bakes the crust–I’ve never done this when making tarts, so I didn’t bother doing it here. Who wants their oven on so long in the summer? I also used pecorino instead of parmesean, because my pecorino was already grated and my parmesean was not and after the egg incident I was not in the mood to grate cheese. Either will work.

Broccoli Quiche (heavily adapted from Love and Olive Oil)
1 store-bought pie crust (I used Pillsbury, but feel free to make your own)
10 ounces broccoli, cut into bite-size florets (I got this from one bunch from Whole Foods)
2 garlic cloves, minced
5 eggs*
1 1/4 cups “half-and-half:” fill halfway with heavy cream, then fill the rest of the way with skim milk
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
large pinch red pepper flakes
generous 1/4 teaspoon salt
pepper, to taste
2 cups shredded cheddar, or a mix (I use Trader Joe’s three-cheese mix)
1/4 cup or large handful grated parmesean or pecorino cheese

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Unroll dough and lay out in a pie plate, folding any overhang back over to create a reinforced edge. Prick the bottom a few times with a fork and set aside in fridge until you’re ready for it.

Cook broccoli in a pot of salted boiling water for no more than three minutes: any longer and it will turn to mush once baked. Drain and rinse under cold water.

In a bowl, whisk together eggs, “half-and-half,” nutmeg, salt, pepper, and red pepper until combined and smooth. Add broccoli and stir.

Remove pie crust from fridge and place on a baking sheet. Carefully pour in filling and top with cheeses. Bake until filling is just set, about 45 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool at least 20 minutes before serving.

*If this still seems like it will be too much filling for you, omit 1 egg and 1/4 cup liquids.

Leave a Reply

