Spinach Quesadilla With Sriracha Sour Cream

There are a lot of dangerous things you can do in life. Swim in shark-infested waters. Get in a cage with an angry lion. Lick a subway pole. But perhaps the most dangerous is drunk food shopping.

Have you ever stopped at the store for bread and eggs after happy hour? Don’t do it. Oh sure, you’ll get your bread and eggs. But you’ll also get all sorts of things you don’t need. Like a giant bottle of sriracha.

Don’t get me wrong. I love sriracha. I visit the Schnitzel Truck on a regular basis not so much for the schnitzel but for their sriracha mayo. But the supermarket sells smaller bottles of sriracha–drunk me just thought that the biggest bottle possible was the only acceptable option, so that I could make a gallon of sriracha mayo. Do you see what it says? I own more than one pound of sriracha.

Here’s the thing about the sriracha mayo though. I don’t like mayonnaise. I can tolerate it if someone else has smeared it on a BLT for me, and I can enjoy the sriracha mayo because I think of it as a sauce, but mayo and I, for the most part, do not get along. It’s just so…gloppy. In fact, I am morally opposed to buying it. When I was growing up and my mom bought mayo, my dad and I would throw out the bottles as soon as we found them. She had to resort to stealing little packets from delis and hiding them.

So when I sobered up came to my senses, I had to think of something else to mix my giant bottle of sriracha with. What’s close to mayo in consistency but far less gross? Sour cream. What’s sour cream best with? Quesadillas. Quesadillas with lots of cheese. And some spinach, because healthy vegetables cancel out cheese. Fact.

Another fact: you can use the leftover sriracha sour cream on everything. Dip chicken nuggets/cutlets in it. Put it on sandwiches. Have it with your eggs. Make more quesadillas. If you choose to just eat it with a spoon, I won’t tell anyone. I promise.

Spinach Quesadilla With Sriracha Sour Cream (serves one but can be easily doubled)
8 oz. container of sour cream
1/2 tablespoon sriracha
one large or two medium whole wheat tortillas
2 cups chopped frozen spinach (measured frozen)
3/4 to 1 cup shredded cheese of your choice (i use Trader Joe’s lite three-cheese mix)
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
pinch of salt
pinch of pepper
small pinch red pepper flakes

To make the sauce:
Open container of sour cream and remove about a tablespoon. Add sriracha and mix until well combined. It will keep in the container (no extra dishes, yay!) for about as long as the date on the bottom of the container.

To make the quesadilla:
Defrost spinach according to package directions. Dump out into a clean, colored dish towel, roll up and wring out as much extra liquid as possible. Unroll. Spread two tablespoons sriracha sour cream on half of large tortilla (or on one medium one). Sprinkle half of cheese mixture over, followed by salt, pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper. Top with spinach, followed by the rest of the cheese.

Heat a grill pan or other non-stick pan over medium-high heat until hot. Spray with non-stick cooking spray or, if you’re me and keep forgetting to buy non-stick spray, pour a little vegetable oil into the pan and spread with a paper towel. Cook quesadilla for about four minutes until cheese starts to melt, then carefully flip and cook another three to four minutes until cheese is completely melted. Cut into wedges and serve with more sriracha sour cream if desired (and I think that you should).

One thought on “Spinach Quesadilla With Sriracha Sour Cream

  1. Can I share a mayo suggestion? I only say this because you bring up the gloppiness factor.

    Try homemade mayo. It’s like 4 million times better than gloppy, gelatinous storebought mayo, and sometimes it just makes a better base for some dips than sour cream (or mixed 1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream is really good too, that + ranchy herbs and a splash of buttermilk is the best ranch dip). The homemade stuff is more of a smooth, creamy spread. Not like the gloppy stuff.

    Anyway give mayo a chance by making it yourself, please? For me? It’s really easy if you use an immersion blender to make it, takes like 30 seconds. Just throw an egg in a glass jar, add a dash of salt, a squirt(ish) of mustard, a splash of vinegar, a splash of lemon juice (you may want to look up actual amounts the first time you make this…). Then between 3/4 cup and 1 1/2 cups of canola oil poured on top. Immerse the immersion blender, blend at the bottom until it emulsifies, then slowly raise it out of the jar until the rest of the oil is blended in.

Leave a Reply

