Blogging Conferences Are Awesome

first business trip
I spent this past weekend in Dallas at the annual Blissdom conference. My company sent me (baby’s very first business trip!), so as you can see above and below I made sure I behaved with decorum and a businesslike demeanor at all times.
gaylord texan blissdom

Ha! You guys, this is the beauty of going to blogging conferences, specifically ones that focus on mom bloggers. Everyone is so nice, positive, and ready to have a good time! While my main purposes for going were to support and connect with bloggers we work with, and meet some fabulous new ones (and I did do a lot of that), I attended a decent number of sessions and learned a lot of lessons even non-moms can use, like how to set boundaries for yourself, how not to use technology, and am now reading a really fascinating book about introverts and extroverts. I had an incredible time and I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to have in-person conversations with the women (and men!) I e-mail with daily.

But luckily, these sessions were really nicely spread out so I had time to do not-so-worky things. Like eat enough Mexican food to feed a large family (seriously, I ate this for 2 meals and one snack, and then ate fresh Mexican the next day),
mexicanSee a performance by Second City (where Tina Fey and Amy Poehler got their starts!),
second cityAnd go on a total gluten-binge and eat this cookie that was literally bigger than my face.
cookieAlso: having your own hotel room is THE BEST. You can do things like colonize one of the beds to be the holder of all your stuff, use up all the hangers in the closet, leave the bathroom door open, not worry about running out of towels, watch a lot of HGTV, and even order room service while streaming college basketball on your laptop.
room serviceIn short: Blissdom is great, mom bloggers are the best (and, for those of you unfamiliar with them, not at all what you’re thinking), and I’m so glad I got to binge on real* Mexican food in all its glory before going gluten-free.

*Fact: Mexican food in Texas > Mexican food in New York.

One thought on “Blogging Conferences Are Awesome

  1. Pingback: Too Much of a Good Thing | Cake Is The Only Thing That Matters

Leave a Reply

